top of page

The Future of OnEdMentors is On Demand


When I first heard from Stephen Hurley, the architect of VoicEd Radio, that he would be retiring from education, I was sad and sure I would miss him. Then, I had to process that his departure meant the end of the weekly live show that I had been on for 7 years and hosted for 5. I am still processing that, but I am also grateful for how I was able to use this platform to help teachers. OnEdMentors brought me into the world of podcasting, the rush of live radio, and the opportunity to speak to educators in ways I had not previously fathomed. I have many devoted listeners to the show, and I have even more people who have listened to and shared episodes that spoke to them with panels of educators who impacted their learning and their classrooms. I am so proud of the work that I have done through this show and how it has helped inform and bolster our work at The Mentoree. I don’t exactly know what the future holds for the show, but I do know that the future of OnEdMentors is on demand.

It all began with a Google form to be on the panel for a live show that was one of the first offerings of the newly launched voicEd.ca. The visionary platform was constructed as a space for educators to hear from researchers and practitioners, to build community, and to learn through listening. VoicEd quickly became Canada’s largest network of education content and an influential network of education thinkers. Derek Rhodenizer hosted the show and Stephen was on audio production. Its goal was to support preservice teachers through mentorship. Over the years, I helped with the content production, organizing the questions to catalyse conversation,  and I became a back-up host. Eventually, Derek handed me the show, and I brought it under the newly-formed fold of The Mentoree.



OnEdMentors is what gave me the idea to build what became The Mentoree. It started as OnEdMentors Connect- a way to bring the weekly show into faculties and support preservice teachers through various forms of mentorship. As the offering evolved from a collaborative inquiry to an organization, we became a space for mentorship at any and every stage of a career in education, and OnEdMentors was a conduit through which we could learn about education, be responsive to the expressed needs of our growing community, and serve educators through conversations with a different panel of professionals each week. I am so proud of what the show became and how I honoured its roots with our monthly episodes of The Mentoree Lounge, specifically built for teacher candidates to ask their questions to a panel of mentors and hear answers in real time.



I didn’t see an end to this boundless need to hear from educators on a bevy of topics that span education. As an ever changing profession, it was easy to build episodes and it was great to meet new educators as I worked to develop shows with panels of educators that spanned geography and experiences. I wanted to create a learning space that really made a difference for educators, and I feel confident that I was able to create the conditions for people to speak and feel heard. I improved my speaking and listening skills throughout my years hosting this show, and I am truly grateful to have had so many opportunities to lead conversations that really matter. Conversations build capacity, and OnEdMentors will continue to help educators build on their professional learning, efficacy, and well-being through the archived episodes and whatever else may come from this. 


There is pain in this moment but there is also hope. When I said goodbye to the first podcast I hosted,  the Personal Playlist Podcast (P3), I did so because the streaming platforms were removing episodes due to the laws around sharing music. I saw each episode as a capturing of people’s stories through song, and I felt I could not prolong the inevitable and stopped recording the show. It was my choice, but it didn’t feel like I had any other choice. When Stephen told me about the end of live shows on voicEd radio and his retirement from education, I felt a different kind of aching. It was the loss of something I could not control but also the chance to embrace what is possible and leap into the unknown. This is not the first time I’ve had to find sunshine or make lemonade. Each of the seemingly insurmountable odds lead me to a new undertaking that resulted in huge growth for me as well as opportunities for impact beyond my imagination. Here’s what is not wrong with ending OnEdMentors on a high note: I have lead work that makes a difference for educators which, in turn, makes a difference for students. That is the legacy I want to leave in education, and I can close out this chapter of my life with pride and a full heart. 


Thank you for listening to some or all of the episodes. These will continue to be archived on the voicEd site and on our site at The Mentoree. I’d be happy to engage in any conversion related to The Mentoree, education, and building future OnEdMentors episodes, wherever they may be housed. Have a fantastic day everyone! 







1 Comment


Klara Redford
Klara Redford
Jun 01

It has been not only a pleasure to listen to these episodes but to also be a part! Getting to know you Noa, has been a gift! Thank you. Klara.

Like
bottom of page