top of page

BOB- A Reframe to Build On


As noted in a previous post, there were many push and pull factors that led me to decide to expand Building Outside the Blocks. Up until a few months ago, BOBs was the name I used for the personalizing projects that I developed to help students build skill, autonomy and community and how I would refer to my overall teaching style. It infers out of the box thinking with an edu-slant. That's why my Twitter handle is @noasbobs. When I decided to evolve Building Outside the Blocks, a lot changed. This may not have always the plan, but here I am, and here is exactly where I want to be.

People asked me why I would leave teaching because I love it so much, but I will never really leave teaching. Teaching is not just a profession that I have had for 22 years; it’s who I am. It’s what I love to read about, think about, discuss and do. I am excited to increase the pool of possibility in terms of what that may look like on an every day basis. I love teaching so much and was already doing many projects on the side including being a committed mom and wife. This next step is really about deciding to say yes to more than I could before. This is the leap I am taking.

For a long time, I have been doing the things that I love. Beyond teaching the entire middle school, I have consulted to create programs and experiences for many people and a variety of institutions. I have coached pre-service and new teachers formally and informally, and I have presented workshops on a several subjects. I love the feeling of nurturing people’s skills because of the the potential that the ripple effect of encouragement can have on classrooms of students. I have developed many ways to get people creating their own maps to limitless destinations and cultivate what’s possible. I get so much energy from lighting people up and making a contribution that makes a difference.

I have created many opportunities to ignite passion and fuel learning throughout my career. Whether in my classroom, for schools, or for businesses, I have developed many ways for people to connect to themselves and each other. That gives me more impact than the classroom alone can provide. I have also been so fortunate to hear positive feedback about how this has affected many students’ lives and continues to build people up.

Beginning to expand this offering has many challenges. The most difficult part so far has been stepping outside myself and trying to explain all I know and am able to do. Thanks to Stephanie Roll, I think I have improved my ability to do so, but I still have a lot to learn. She has helped me immeasurably with the content and layout of my new website. Additionally, her coaching has helped me communicate a clearer picture of what I can offer. Stephanie is a digital solutions expert that has assisted me in myriad ways. Coaching of all kinds is ultimately about helping individuals move forward on their learning continuum.

I have been asking myself a lot of questions lately. Now that I have articulated the "what" and "so what", I am on to the "now what" and that is the greyest part of all. As I work on lighting my way through this fog, I am lit up by all that's to come. I have being doing so many things that fill my bucket like starting the Personalized Playlist Podcast, writing articles for publication and working on my business plan. I have wanted to do so many things in my life, and have accomplished a lot on the side. I have always been curious about what I could do if I had a bit more autonomy. I couldn't wait any longer to explore this line of inquiry. If not now, when.

With blocks of time, subjects and units, people can perceive teaching as a profession of compartments. These blocks can, instead, be places from which to build. With a simple twist or a shift in perspective, doors can open and windows of possibility become limitless. That is the goal of Building Outside the Blocks:

To use the curriculum and other unchanging aspects of school as a creative catalyst for building invitations to learning that impact individual growth and offer something for everyone.

This thinking has helped me continually grow as an educator and assist others in doing the same. I build projects, initiatives and capacity to amplify student voice and propel engagement. Welcome to BOB reframed.

bottom of page