top of page

Thank you, David Bale


My most recent post was focused on mentors, and I lost a special one this week. After hearing the incredible eulogies at his funeral today, it is clear that it is a loss shared by thousands. David Bale was the Director of Communications for my school. He was also a former camp owner/director, journalist, family man, all around good guy and my friend. Why is it only in death that the totality of one’s life comes into view? I didn’t know what to do with all of my feelings, so I did what David believed I could do: write.

David impacted all the teachers at our school because he was the man behind the camera. He was the one capturing and sharing the stories of our school with the world. He was an understated person with an eye for the right angle, both really and metaphorically. All of his intensions, however, were for the good of others and the school. He was truly a righteous human being.

Because of my role as Student Council Advisor and RS360 Coordinator, I had the privilege of working with David in myriad ways. He always wanted to get the word out on any distinguishing feature of the school, and I always had something to share. That made us allies. He insisted that we find different ways to show our offerings, and there are many, so we did a lot of talking.

For Student Council, David helped tell the story of our leadership culture. He captured the Student Council election campaign, speeches and results. He also empowered our Co-VP’s of Communications by mentoring them as school reporters and sharing their Middle School newspaper with the larger school community. Their newscasts shared events going on at all levels of the school experience but also captured a lot of the leadership work of our Middle School students. When he handed the microphone over, he was director, cameraman and producer all in one. At our closing assembly today, the Communications Team expressed their grief over the loss of a man who taught them how to be camera ready and speak for the school.

For the RS360, David always reminded me that I had to prompt my audience by explaining what it was first. The RS360 is a full circle approach to promoting respect and inclusion among the school community. It encompasses three groups of older students who work on the playground, at lunch and through explicit classroom instruction to help build a culture of kindness and positivity. David asked me to start blogging about the RS360. It turns out that while he was giving a voice to a feature if our school, he was also helping me find mine.

I had always enjoyed writing, but I preferred fiction. I have two children’s books published and write poems for my children and students to help them learn (and for fun), but personal narratives were not really my thing until David encouraged me to explore that genre. David quietly led me down the path where I truly embraced writing in my own voice and began looking forward to doing it more regularly.

Last year, I began writing an RS360 blog. I was so unsure, but it was David’s idea, so he supported me at every stage. That is when David and I really became friends. His gentle kindness and quiet redirection helped me become a better writer. He also taught me what I teach my students: the importance of audience in the writing equation. David would show me why people wouldn’t understand what I was writing, even if I had written about it before. He would graciously explain why I needed to repeat something or help me find new ways rephrasing ideas in order for the piece to be better understood by the reader. David helped me live my practice, and I am a better teacher because of it.

Last February, my article on Building Outside the Blocks was published. Everyone at my school that knew about it was supportive and complimentary. David felt that it was something that deserved to be shouted out to the entire school community. He didn’t let me shy away from sharing this piece with more people as he felt that it could be a benefit to others while highlighting the school’s staff. David was always in my corner while still looking out for the big picture.

When I started blogging on my own this year, I didn’t want to bother David with it. He was such a busy man, but he always made time for me anyway. When he asked about my work, he’d ask how I was sharing it. David was always trying to get me out of my overly analytical head and celebrate the work I was doing. He helped me communicate more about what so many teachers are unable to: the sacred art of teaching.

My last conversation with David was one week ago. We sat reviewing the picture he chose to go with the article I had written for our school magazine. I really didn’t want my picture in it because I wanted the article to focus on the incredible work the students had done, but David insisted. Plus, he had set up the shot for 10 minutes, so there was surely something else in it that he wanted to say; I just hadn’t figured that part out yet.

David, I have so much I want to say to you. I have always been so grateful for your approach and your style, your mentorship and encouragement. You were a wonderful teacher because it never felt like a lesson. You hid the learning behind comforting pep talks that kept me going and helped me get through many challenges, big and small. You were an advisor, a storyteller and the devils advocate with an angel’s soul. David Bale, words cannot describe this loss to your family and friends, camp and school. Thank you for sharing this small part of yourself with me. I am ever the better for knowing you.


bottom of page