top of page

The Surprising Truth About Moving Others Showed Some Surprising Truths About Me


I was privileged and grateful to be sent for training to an International Baccalaureate teaching conference. I rarely get the chance to travel for work, and I was looking so forward to my immersion in learning. Spending a few days in New Mexico was an especially attractive location considering the snowstorm that had just been dumped at home.

On my first night, at the conference check-in, I made a friend. After the introductory meal and video, we began chatting about a variety of things. Eventually, the conversation led to my passion- teaching. There I was, trying to justify why, after flying a long way to spend intense days talking about teaching, I wanted to infuse “work” into the evening’s conversation. While we were all at this conference as educators, not everyone understands that my work is also m

y interest and hobby until they understand me. As soon as I started talking about Building Outside the Blocks, he asked me, “Are you trying to sell me something?”

Funny enough, I had just started Daniel Pink’s book To Sell is Human: The Surprising Truth About Moving Others (2013) and accepted that teaching was actually a form for sales. Now, I was confronted with a question that made me realize that I was selling something- an idea. I immediately redirected the conversation, but the uncomfortable feeling it gave me stayed with me. As a teacher, I was just beginning to come to terms with being in the non-sales selling business and wasn’t really ready to actually be "in sales". (Read the book to understand this further- it’s awesome for anyone!)

Later that week, I started speaking to someone about some of the creative things we each do in our classes. There were so many amazing teachers at this conference from whom I was learning in addition to our incredible workshop leader. I wanted to share my BOB approach with her because I love it and the students benefit so much, but I was afraid. My conversation was interrupted by feelings of inadequacy and the self-conscious notion that I was trying to sell her something. I persevered, working up the ability to begin talking about Building Outside the Blocks, even if in a clumsy way.

I am normally quite articulate, but this was a real challenge. I tried my best to sound non-threatening, but something didn’t feel right. I even tried to be casual by sharing my website and blog address saying, “Check it out if you want. I’d be happy to talk more about anything that interests you.” It made me so happy when she emailed me later that day to tell me that she had, in fact, been on both my sites and was really excited by my work.

After finishing Pink’s book on the flight home, I felt compelled to work through my rut using the guidance he provides in the chapter titled Pitch. If I was going to be sharing BOBs with other teachers because I continually witness their power and am moved by the results, I was going to have to actually prepare to pitch it.

I followed the practice guide for the six styles of pitches outlined and thought to use this blog to get feedback from any reader. Daniel Pink encourages practice, so anyone who has constructive ideas can now help me evolve how I share this great offering.

Pink’s 6 Pitches

You can learn more at http://www.danpink.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/sixpitches.pdf

At the end of his book, Pink asks two questions:

1. If the person you’re selling to agrees to buy, will his or her life improve?

2. When your interaction is over, will the world be a better place.

If you know me even a little, you already know that I wholeheartedly believe both of those things are true about Building Outside the Blocks. Now, all I want to know is how to non-sell sell it.

Your feedback is welcome. I am still working on developing the thick skin- a required character trait in sales. If the pitch worked, check out www.buildingoutsidetheblocks.com for more information on the BOB approach or reach to to me noa@buildingoutsidetheblocks.com.

bottom of page